Galapagos Tortoise

The Galapagos Tortoises, which their scientific name is Geochelone nigra, are the biggest tortoise that exist in the world and the most ancient ones having more than 180 years. This tortoise were distributed through  all the continents except in Oceania. Nowadays we can only found them in selected places like Galapagos Islands and Seychelles.

Giant Galapagos Tortoise
Galapagos Tortoise

They mainly live near the coast of the Pacific Ocean. They can reach a length of one meter (3.28 feet) and can weight more than 550 pounds. In the Galapagos Islands scientists had found more than 15 subspecies of this tortoise, but with the pass of the years now we only have 11 subspecies and all of them are endangered of extinction because of the hunting and the destruction of their habitat. Galapagos tortoise can survive more than a year without food or water.

We can differentiate each of the species because of the shape of their shell, the size and length of their neck and extremities.

The subspecies of Galapagos Tortoise are:

Chelonoidis abingdonii: This tortoise is found the Pinta Island, nowadays is extinct, the last tortoise was the Lonesome George

Chelonoidis becki:This tortoise is found in North Isabela Island

Chelonoidis chathamensis: This tortoise is found in San Cristóbal Island.

Chelonoidis darwini:This tortoise is found in Santiago Island.

Chelonoidis donfaustoi:This tortoise is found in Santa Cruz Island

Chelonoidis duncanensis:This tortoise is found in Pinzón Island.

Chelonoidis hoodensis:This tortoise is found in Española Island.

Chelonoidis nigra: This tortoise is found in Floreana Island. Nowadays is extinct.

Chelonoidis phantastica:This tortoise is found in Fernandina, Today already extinct.

Chelonoidis porteri:This tortoise is found in Santa Cruz.

Chelonoidis vicina: This tortoise is found in South Isabela Island.

Galapagos Tortoise Map
Galapagos Tortoise Distribution

Deja un comentario